Friday, September 26, 2014

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Staffordshire



Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Mug shot of Laura Bullion

Member of Butch Cassidy’s Wild Bunch gang, 1893

killer

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Saturday, September 20, 2014

teratology

Dr. Lowell J. Levine, a dental expert from New York University, testified before the Leon County Circuit Court in Ted Bundy's pretrial hearing in in Florida in 1979

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Broken Monters

On my wish list "Broken Monsters" by Lauren Beukes

Broken Monsters is very much a novel of the present. The city of Detroit is a major, tragic character in the novel — "Some people have ghost towns, we have a whole ghost city," as one local artist puts it. Beukes doesn't shy away from the social issues that have plagued Detroit; she mentions the city's corrupt former mayor, Kwame Kilpatrick, as well as Renisha McBride, a black woman who was shot to death after knocking on the door of a white homeowner. - Entire NPR Book review here.

phil·is·tine

ˈfiləˌstēn,-ˌstīn/
noun
noun: philistine; plural noun: philistines
  1. 1.
    a person who is hostile or indifferent to culture and the arts, or who has no understanding of them.
    "I am a complete philistine when it comes to paintings"
adjective
adjective: philistine
  1. 1.
    hostile or indifferent to culture and the arts.
    "a philistine government"

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

boy and bird

Monday, September 8, 2014

Pink Chanel: Similar but Different

Divine in Eat Your Make up by John Waters

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Friday, September 5, 2014

Brett Freund

Wednesday, September 3, 2014


Monday, September 1, 2014

Erwin Blumenfeld

Untitled, New York, 1944
1944
Erwin Blumenfeld was a photographer and artist born in Germany. He was best known for his fashion photography published in Vogue and Harper's Bazaar in the 1940s and 1950s.

Dorthea Lange